On your Marks, set the table, go! WIN £200 of Marks and Spencer vouchers

20 Dec

IMG_1007_ammended

One of the MANY things I love about this time of year is laying the Christmas table. Growing up, I’d spend ages folding festive paper napkins into pretty shapes and throwing table confetti around like a crazy person.

So, I’m very excited to have been asked to help launch and co-judge a new nationwide bloggers’ competition with Marks & Spencer in which you can win £200 of M&S goodies (or one of two £50 runners-up prizes). All you need to do is write a blog entry explaining how you’d create a gorgeous table scheme for Christmas, New Year or any other special occasion, using M&S accessories.

To give you some inspiration, I’ve laid up my dream Christmas table with the help of the lovely people at M&S…

IMG_0992_ammended warm

Getting this look is EASY. The key is to stick to two main colours plus an accent shade (I’ve chosen red and white with splashes of green); and one or two themes or motifs throughout (I’ve gone for a Scandi feel with snowflakes). Making your table look pretty doesn’t have to cost much either – I’ve decorated a mini tree with ribbons and pine cones…

IMG_0998_ammended

…used pine cones and rosemary sprigs in a glass cake stand as a centrepiece; and used rosemary and ribbon to jazz up some plain white napkins:

IMG_1001_ammended

I’ve also cheated iwth a wrapping paper tablecloth. It goes well with the red and white, and after the meal I can just pop it in the recycling bin – no washing or ironing required! As for the chairs, I’ve simply tied on baubles with ribbon – simple but effective:

IMG_1000_ammended

Want to recreate this look? Everything in these pictures, apart from the white plates and cutlery came from Marks and Spencer (okay, the pine cones came from a tree in my neighbour’s garden, but you get the idea!)

Fancy having a go yourself and winning a fab prize? Here’s everything you need to enter the competition…

Bloggers, would you like to win £200 to spend on brand new tableware at M&S?

If your answer is ‘Yes!’ and you have a flair for interior design, then why not enter our Magical Dining Room Competition! To be in with a chance of winning all you have to do is create a blog post that shows what your dream dining room would look like, and how you would add a little magical and sparkle for a special occasion.

If you are posting before Christmas then you may like to include some of M&S’ festive tableware in your post. If you are posting in the New Year then let us know what items you would pick for a special dinner party.

What you need to do:

  1. Hop on over to the home section at Marksandspencer.com to started
  2. Choose your favourite products from the M&S Homeware collection (e.g. a dining room table, chairs, crockery and festive tableware)
  3. Create a mood board to show us what your dream dining room would look like and post on your blog. (You can use a tool like Polyvore or Paint to create a mood board, or just cut and paste product pics into your post). Here’s what my original moodboard looked like: M&S Christmas table selection
  4. Name your post: My M&S Magical Dining Room.
  5. Make sure you include the product name and price for each item you choose.
  6. Add the link to your post in the comments section of one of the judges’ blog posts by the 26 January 2014

Here are some useful pages that you may like use to find inspiration and reference in your post:

Who’s judging?

M&S has asked me and Jen of Love Chic Living to judge the entries and Jen is also running the competition over on her blog, so you can choose whether you enter here or there.

Jen and I will choose one overall winner from all of the entries and two runners up. The main winner will be awarded a £200 gift voucher and the two runners up will each win £50 to spend at M&S. We will announce the winners on our blogs two weeks after the competition closes.

The competition closes on 26th January at 11.59pm

GOOD LUCK!

10 Responses to “On your Marks, set the table, go! WIN £200 of Marks and Spencer vouchers”

  1. mumjd January 5, 2014 at 11:04 pm #

    I had great fun doing this. Here’s my entry http://blogmumjd.wordpress.com/2014/01/05/my-ms-magical-dining-room/

  2. sewyeah January 15, 2014 at 12:46 pm #

    I’ve gone all Eastery as i was too slow for Christmas! http://sewyeah.co.uk/2014/01/14/my-ms-magical-dining-room/

  3. Boo Roo and Tigger Too January 19, 2014 at 4:46 pm #

    A wonderful competition that has had me thinking about how I use my dining room – http://www.boorooandtiggertoo.com/2014/01/My-Marks-and-Spencer-Magical-Dining-Room.html

  4. Otilia January 20, 2014 at 1:04 pm #

    What a wonderful competition. Here is my entry http://www.goldsprinkles.com/ms-magical-dining-room/

  5. Gemma Mills / Chamberlain (MyMillsBaby) January 21, 2014 at 10:44 pm #

    Here’s my romantic and girlie dream dining room! Thanks Jenny, I had loads of fun creating this and it’s definitely given me tons of inspiration for how to create an adult-space whilst ensuring it’s practical for family living – no easy feat! http://mymillsbaby.co.uk/2014/01/ms-magical-dining-room/

  6. rebeccabeesley January 26, 2014 at 12:54 am #

    Here’s my M&S Magical Dining room.
    http://thebeesleybuzz.blogspot.co.uk/2014/01/my-m-magical-dining-room.html
    thanks, Rebecca @TheBeesleyBuzz

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My M&S magical dining room | sewyeah - January 15, 2014

    […] was I doing this? Well, I spotted a competition being run by Jen at lovechicliving and Jenny at thetreasurehunter asking bloggers to create a dream dining scheme for a special occasion and I just had to have a go […]

  2. My M&S Magical Dining Room | My Mills Baby - January 21, 2014

    […] room bits and bobs! Inspired by a competition by style-gurus Jen (Love Chic Living) and Jenny (The Treasure Hunter) in which they’ve challenged fellow bloggers to pop together their dream M&S Magical […]

  3. My M&S Magical Dining Room | Tidy Away Today - January 22, 2014

    […] Dining Room Bloggers Competition to win £200 M&S vouchers, as hosted by Love Chic Living and The Treasure Hunter UK. This entry was posted in Mood Boards, Uncategorized and tagged M&S Magical Dining Room, […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,361 other followers

